//
archives

Grandad’s WWII Diary

This category contains 176 posts

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Saturday 24th April (cont.) – Tuesday 27th April -1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 21st April – Saturday 24th April 1943 … and as too late to obtain overnight leave.  At night while in Beer Bar met T Coutts (?).  Afterward looking in at several cafes – all places now close down at 10P.M. Sunday April 25 Day 750 As arranged met Jim in … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 21st April – Saturday 24th April 1943

Click here for entry for Thursday 15th April – Tuesday 20th April 1943  Wednesday April 21 Day 746 In afternoon get paid – collecting pass & rail warrant.  Packed all gear in readiness and played housie at night. Thursday April 22 Day 747 Arose at 6AM.  Left hospital by truck at 8.30AM.  Travelling to El Ballah Station … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Thursday 15th April – Tuesday 20th April 1943

Click here for entry for Sunday 11th April – Wednesday 14th April 1943 Thursday April 15 Day 740 This afternoon layed in sun – must begin to get some colour up.  Wrote in application for leave on next Thursday.  At night sisters & officiers held knowledge quiz. Friday April 16 Day 741 Days rather monotonous – simply … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Union Line Menu 11 April 1943 – NZHS Maunganui

In the diary entry for 11 April 1943 my Grandfather wrote of visiting a friend onboard a ship where they enjoyed a wonderful dinner.  This was the menu he kept with the diary from that day. UNION LINE Luncheon Pickled Walnuts SOUP Tomato Soup FISH Canned Canadian Salmon, Plain or Mayonnaise ENTREE Lancashire Hot Pot FROM THE GRILL … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Sunday 11th April – Wednesday 14th April 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 7th April – Saturday 10th April 1943 Sunday April 11th Day 736 Left hospital at seven o’clock by ration truck taking us to El Ballah on main road – Palestine truck took us another seven miles then struck amazing luck catching a wog truck going right to Suez.  Reached there … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 7th April – Saturday 10th April 1943

Click here for entry for Saturday 3rd April – Tuesday 6th April 1943 Wednesday April 7 Day 732 Big convoy of wounded arrived towards late afternoon – travelled nearly 2000 miles from Tunisia. Weather rather warm and day becoming rather monotonous.  Several games of housey then retired until midnight before going on guard. Thursday April 8 … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Saturday 3rd April – Tuesday 6th April 1943

Click here for entry for Tuesday 30th March – Friday 2nd April 1943 Saturday April 3 Day 728 Weather cleared during morning.  During hut inspection lost _____ .  Days getting rather monotonous but cannont definitely make up mind about extended leave.  Received note from Jim (Wootton)  – still camped outside Meena. Sunday April 4 Day 729 … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Tuesday 30th March – Friday 2nd April 1943

Click here for entry for Thursday 25th March (cont.) – Monday 29th March 1943  Tuesday March 30 Day 724 Morning spent in sleeping.  Afternoon played cards & had trousers altered.  Evening played Housey – then attended the Dancing class for half an hour – had one dance and then went to patients canteen and listened to Knowledge … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Thursday 25th March (cont.) – Monday 29th March 1943

Click here for entry for Saturday 20th March (cont.) – Thursday 25th March 1943 … walked over in direction of Sweet Water Canal.  Housey in canteen again at night – watched patients down in Welfare Hut then went on duty. Friday March 26 Day 720 Rather cloudy day – rained towards late afternoon.  In evening saw … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Saturday 20th March (cont.) – Thursday 25th March 1943

Click here for entry for Monday 15th March – Saturday 20th March 1943 … did not bother to leave camp as there is blowing up terrific sand storm – everything covered with dust.  Spent afternoon in learning “Bridge”.  Housie at night – another full nights sleep. Sunday Mar 21 Day 715 Now on day duty – … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Monday 15th March – Saturday 20th March 1943

Click here for entry for Thursday 11th March – Sunday 14th March 1943 Monday March 15 Day 709 Moved into another tent taking place of man away on leave.  Guard duty commenced at night 9-11 then supplied with supper which in reality is breakfast – retired then second shift 3-5AM. Tuesday March 16 Day 710 Layed … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Thursday 11th March – Sunday 14th March 1943

Click here for entry for Saturday 6th March – Wednesday 10th March 1943 Thursday Mar 11 Day 705 Free day – no fatigues – met Bill Leatham (or Leathem) just arrived back from Rest House (Sidi Buish?) unable to get leave to Cairo.  In afternoon told that I would be parading within the next few days for … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Saturday 6th March – Wednesday 10th March 1943

Click here for entry for Sunday 28th February – Friday 5th March 1943  Saturday March 6 Day 700 Again on Officers Mess.  While playing cards in afternoon Jim came to see me.  Caught transport in and only had about one hour together – meeting in Cairo on Monday.  At night after fatigues wrote in Church Army … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Sunday 28th February – Friday 5th March 1943

Click here for entry for Tuesday 23rd February – Saturday 27th February 1943  Sunday Feb 28 Day 694 Church parade – watched Boxing contest in afternoon between R.A.S.C (Royal Army Service Corps – British Army) & Maadi Camp.  Wrote in YMCA during evening.  Received mail – 8 letters. Monday March 1 Day 695 Again in Sarg. … Continue reading

The Mystery of the Unknown Great-Grandmother

Old photos can be a bit of a pain, unless you know the people in them, they can be meaningless.  Even more frustrating is when you know darn well they are relatives but you just don’t know who! Thus brings us to The Mystery of the Unknown Great-Grandmother… As part of the box of photos I … Continue reading

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,630 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

A stressful morning but a #chocolate muffin and #coffee is always welcome! Love this #starwars purse #geek Turn down service for #Disneyland60 at The Grand Californian Legends Plaza and Team #Disney building at the #DisneyStudios #Disneyland60 limited edition Imagineering pin from Mickey's of Glendale This was a display of early Disneyland merchandise at the archives - note the little gold glass dish in the bottom right off the photo - I have one of these!  So excited! #Disneyland #disney View from our seat #Delta #starwars geek out moment The lights have come up on the Bay Bridge #sanfrancisco

Most Viewed Posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,630 other followers