Grandad’s WWII Diary – Sunday 28th February – Friday 5th March 1943

Feb 28-Mar 5 1943 Click here for entry for Tuesday 23rd February – Saturday 27th February 1943

 Sunday Feb 28

Day 694

Church parade – watched Boxing contest in afternoon between R.A.S.C (Royal Army Service Corps – British Army) & Maadi Camp.  Wrote in YMCA during evening.  Received mail – 8 letters.

Monday March 1

Day 695

Again in Sarg. Mess. only for work for an hour at each meal.  Pictures at night.

To the Shores of Tripoli (1942)

Tuesday March 2

Day 696

No fatigues today so went on leave to Cairo. Leave truck left ??? at 1.30PM arriving at Bab El Hadid Square at 2PM.  Did a little shopping otherwise spent most of time at Services Club.  Saw pictures at Diana (Cinema) “To the Shores of Tripoli”, different type to what I had expected.  Left Cairo again at 10.30PM.

The Man Who Wouldn't Talk (1940)
The Man Who Wouldn’t Talk (1940)

Wednesday March 3

Day 697

Fatigue in Sarg. Mess – just an hour after each meal.  Inquired at Orderly room of grading – temporarily unfit for 3 months then another Medical Board.  Pall Mall Theatre at night – “The Man Who Wouldn’t Talk”.

Thursday March 4

Day 698

Free day – read & slept during most of time  Shafto’s Theatre at night “Ice Capades”.

Friday March 5

Day 699

Fatigue in Officer’s Mess.  Exceptionally good food – but do not finish until after seven at nigh.  Played housie then went to bed.  Met Billy Thomas.

 Click here for entry for Saturday 6th March – Wednesday 10th March 1943

Advertisements

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s