Grandad’s WWII Diary – Saturday 5th June – Tuesday 8th June 1943

Jun 5 - 8

Click here for entry for  Monday 31st May (cont.) – Friday 4th June 1943

Saturday June 5

Day 790

Usual lying in bed then swimming during afternoon – “Gala Day at Lido Club” – several races & Polo matches.  Egyptian band in attendance – played quite well.  Great crowd down – pity blowing so hard.  At night wrote to Arthur – thanking him for his parcel.

Photos of Gala Day at El Ballah

Sunday June 6

Day 791

All up early – gave tent proper clean up.  Afternoon usual swim – big convoy passing through down to Suez – many merchants & escorts and T.L.C’s (tank landing craft). All defences along canal being strengthened – must be intending to use canal more – now that the Med is open to shipping.  Evening continued writing then read.

Monday June 7

 Day 792

Desert Victory (1943)
Desert Victory (1943)

Washing clothes in morning then walked to canal returning in lorry.  Several large ships passing on way to Port Said.  Evening “Desert Victory” shown outside patients canteen.  Saw picture again but terribly cut about.

Tuesday June 8

Day 793

Awoken rather early – convoy of wounded arrive and being short of orderlies helped to carry patients to wards.  Caught lorry over to canal for swim returning in same.  E.N.S.A (Entertainments National Service Association)  concert cancelled at night so wrote then guard duty 10-12AM.  Mosquitos now becoming rather a nuisance.

Click here for entry for Wednesday 9th June – Sunday 13th June 1943

Advertisements

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s