Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 7th October – Wednesday 14th October 1942

 

Oct 7-14

Click here for entry for Sunday 27th September – Tuesday 6th October 1942

Wednesday October 7

Day 550

Medical Inspection graded A1 – out with next draft.

Thursday October 8

Day 551

Parade before Colonel in morning passed fit.  Leaving camp tomorrow afternoon.  Had last swim.

Friday October 9

Day 552

Packed what little gear I had in morning.  Left Con. Depot at 2PM in bus from ??? – catching train at 3PM.  Received meals at ??? & Kantara.  Same train travels across canal now – have built a swing bridge – ??? stay at Kantara.

Saturday October 10

Day 553

Arrived at Cairo Station at 10 o’clock.  Maadi at 11.30AM.  To base reception.  Only check parade ???.

Sunday October 11

Day 554

Church parade.  M.O. Inspection – then issues of gear – too strict here for me, hope soon to get out.

Monday October 12

Day 555

Marched out to Southern Training Depot.  Met ??? ???.  Attended first parade getting picked for guard from 4PM-4AM ???.

The Trial of Mary Dugan (1941)
The Trial of Mary Dugan (1941)

Tuesday October 13

Day 556

On guard – different to Con. Depot.  Trying hard to get back to unit – wrote.  Pictures at night “The Trial of Mary Dugan”.

Wednesday October 14

Day 557

At range zeroing new rifle in morning.  Another medical inspection for draft in afternoon.  Passed fit.  Leaving soon I hope.

Click here for entry for Thursday 15th October – Monday 19th October 1942

7 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s