Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 27th January (cont) – Tuesday 2nd February 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 20th January – Wednesday 27th January 1943 Wednesday January 27 Day 662 … traveling to Jerusalem – passed through parts of Old City & around walls then onto Bethany – where Christ stayed with Mary … Continue reading Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 27th January (cont) – Tuesday 2nd February 1943

The Next of Kin (1942)

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 20th January – Wednesday 27th January 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 13th January – Tuesday 19th January 1943 Wednesday January 20 Day 655 Farm trip cancelled owing to state of weather so spent most of day in writing.  Slowing catching up. Thursday January 21 Day 656 … Continue reading Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 20th January – Wednesday 27th January 1943

This Thing Called Love (1940)

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 13th January – Tuesday 19th January 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 6th January – Tuesday 12th January 1943 Wednesday January 13 Day 648 Fatigue in morning lasting one hour.  Had trip to Netanya in afternoon – small modern township about 12 miles distance.  Saw through Diamond Cutting … Continue reading Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 13th January – Tuesday 19th January 1943

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 6th January – Tuesday 12th January 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 30th December 1942 – Tuesday 5th January 1943 Wednesday January 6th Day 641 ??? confirmed – reinforcements arrived at Maadi – has smashed all hopes of returning soon.  Boys terribly disappointed.  Saw Roy (or Ray) Sutton … Continue reading Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 6th January – Tuesday 12th January 1943

Monument to De Lessep at entrance of Suez Canal - Port Said

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 30th December 1942 – Tuesday 5th January 1943

Note – this entry contains a racial slur that may cause offence.   Click here for entry for Wednesday 23rd December – Tuesday 29th December 1942  Wednesday 30th December Day 634 Days becoming monotonous.  No more word of leaving for Base.  Attended sing-song … Continue reading Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 30th December 1942 – Tuesday 5th January 1943