//
archives

NZEF

This tag is associated with 64 posts

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Photos of the Jordan River & Jericho day trip

In my Grandad’s war diary, he wrote on Wednesday January 27 of his day trip to the Dead Sea, Jordan River and Jericho – … After lunch continued on to the River Jordan where Israelites forded the river and is also where Christ was baptised.  Visited three monasteries – Greek, Abyssinian & Syriac(?) then to Jericho – has … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Photos of the Dead Sea day trip

In my Grandad’s war diary, he wrote on Wednesday January 27 of his day trip to the Dead Sea, Jordan Valley & Jericho – … traveling to Jerusalem – passed through parts of Old City & around walls then onto Bethany – where Christ stayed with Mary & Martha on his visits to Jerusalem.  Continued to … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 27th January (cont) – Tuesday 2nd February 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 20th January – Wednesday 27th January 1943 Wednesday January 27 Day 662 … traveling to Jerusalem – passed through parts of Old City & around walls then onto Bethany – where Christ stayed with Mary & Martha on his visits to Jerusalem.  Continued to Dead Sea.  Jerusalem is 2800ft above … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 20th January – Wednesday 27th January 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 13th January – Tuesday 19th January 1943 Wednesday January 20 Day 655 Farm trip cancelled owing to state of weather so spent most of day in writing.  Slowing catching up. Thursday January 21 Day 656 Booked in for tour to Jericho & Dead Sea for next Wednesday.  Received 4 cables … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 13th January – Tuesday 19th January 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 6th January – Tuesday 12th January 1943 Wednesday January 13 Day 648 Fatigue in morning lasting one hour.  Had trip to Netanya in afternoon – small modern township about 12 miles distance.  Saw through Diamond Cutting Factory.  Very interesting & delicate work done – only small diamonds cut here – majority … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 6th January – Tuesday 12th January 1943

Click here for entry for Wednesday 30th December 1942 – Tuesday 5th January 1943 Wednesday January 6th Day 641 ??? confirmed – reinforcements arrived at Maadi – has smashed all hopes of returning soon.  Boys terribly disappointed.  Saw Roy (or Ray) Sutton during afternoon.  Discharge to Palestine cancelled until tomorrow – lack of transport. Thursday January 7th … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 30th December 1942 – Tuesday 5th January 1943

Note – this entry contains a racial slur that may cause offence.   Click here for entry for Wednesday 23rd December – Tuesday 29th December 1942  Wednesday 30th December Day 634 Days becoming monotonous.  No more word of leaving for Base.  Attended sing-song in canteen at night. Thursday 31st December Day 635 Usual morning spent.  Went on leave … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 23rd December – Tuesday 29th December 1942

Click here for entry for Tuesday 15th December – Tuesday 22nd December 1942 Wednesday December 23 Day 627 Still decorating wards.  Went to Sweet Water Canal and collected Green Brush.  Having one large Xmas tree for up patients. Thursday December 24 Day 628 Finished decorating. Bed patients tree for our ward in our wing.  Sisters & staff at night … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Tuesday 15th December – Tuesday 22nd December 1942

Click here for entry for Sunday 6th December (cont.) – Monday 14th December 1942 Tuesday December 15 Day 619 Massage relieving pain.  Received parcel from Marg & Jesse.  Went across to canteen in evening and played housie. Wednesday December 16 Day 620 Still receiving treatment.  Sisters arranged for afternoon tea party during afternoon.  Walked to shade of trees … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Sunday 6th December (cont.) – Monday 14th December 1942

Click here for entry for Sunday 29th November – Sunday 6th December 1942 Sunday December 6 (cont) Day 610 … Draft left camp at midnight for Hadera Station leaving there at 2AM. Monday December 7 Day 611 Trying journey – daylight spent in passing through Sinai Desert.  Had meal at Gaza at 9AM. Many Aussies returning … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Sunday 29th November – Sunday 6th December 1942

Click here for entry for Tuesday 24th November – Saturday 28th November 1942 Sunday November 29 Day 603 Filled in morning reading.  Wrote during afternoon.  Pictures at night “Another Thin Man” – film terribly out in places. Monday November 30 Day 604 Another M.O paraded.  Finished with crutches – now using stick.  Wrote during afternoon then … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Tuesday 24th November – Saturday 28th November 1942

Click here for entry for Tuesday 17th November – Monday 23rd November 1942 Tuesday November 24 Day 598 Time becoming rather monotonous – absolutely nothing to do – be different if one could walk properly.  Receive Marg’s parcel with cake & wine.  Pictures again at night “Cash & Carry”. (“Marg” was Margaret Wootton, his then girlfriend who he … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Tuesday 17th November – Monday 23rd November 1942

Click here for entry for Tuesday 10th November – Monday 16th November 1942 Tuesday November 17 Day 591 Showery all day – towards night rained heavy – hardest I have seen for several months.  Change of temperature may kill the flies.  Wrote to Mum.  Played housie then pictures “Parachute Battalion” – plenty of Yankee bull. … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Tuesday 10th November – Monday 16th November 1942

Click here for entry for Wednesday 4th November – Monday 9th November 1942 Tuesday November 10 Day 584 Travelled in train all day.  Fruit on orange groves turning slightly golden.  Reached Hygheria(?) at 5.30PM then proceeded by bus to Con. Camp. Wednesday November 11 Day 585 M.O inspection  Had walking iron fixed to plaster.  Camp very … Continue reading

Grandad’s WWII Diary – Wednesday 4th November – Monday 9th November 1942

Click here for entry for Monday 26th October – Tuesday 3rd November 1942 Wednesday November 4 Day 578 Moving out of hospital tomorrow to staging camp for few days.  Saw pictures at night. Thursday November 5 Day 579 Shift cancelled another day.  Foot hasn’t improved in the slightest. Friday November 6 Day 580 Passed in hospital … Continue reading

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,407 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Most Viewed Posts

Advertisements